29th Limited Over Ecnounter KCK Vs DRC on 24th March 2019

Dharmaraja Vs Kingswood Big Match 2011 (105th Battle of the Maroons)

Rajans Group of 94 celebrated the Big Match 2011 in grand style as Rajans defeated Kingswoodians to claim the trophy putting an end to the 30 years of draws starting from 1980.
KCK batted first and scored 117. Then Rajans scored 169 for the loss of 6 wickets at the end of Day1 and declared. Our bowlers restricted the KCK for 127 for their 2nd Innings and Rajans scored the victories 76 runs by losing just 3 batsmen and claimed the trophy

It was the very first school cricket encounter to be played at Pallekele International stadium.

Rajans Group of 94 joined the crowd to cheer Rajans Cricket team

Rajans Group of 94 at Bigmatch 2011
The batch mates of Rajans Group of 94 @ Pallekele International Stadium

Organizing committee of the Rajans Group of 94 led by Sanjeewa Hulangamuwa put up an excellent plan which made the Group of 94 the most outstanding of all. Most of the colleagues including the KCK praised the organizing of our Group.

Rajans Group of 94 marching towards Pallekele
The double decker of Rajans Group of 94 was escorted by the rolling thunder led by Tharanga Gamage's Honda

The Double Decker

The double decker - a whole new feature in Big Match
The Double Decker - a whole new feature in Big Match

A whole new concept was introduced to the big match by using a double decker to roam in the Kandy city and to get the Group of 94 to the Pallekele grounds. It was filled with Papare music which rocked even the pedestrians in Kandy city. Bus was escorted by our own super Bike gang which was led by Tharanga Gamage’s thundering Honda. In future this will become a mandatory feature in Big Matches in other schools.

The papare
The Papare music added an extra punch to the celebrations

Just two more to win
The crowd waiting anxiously as two more runs are needed to make history. Dharmaraja college was on the edge of ending the 30 years of consecutive draws . . . and we did it

The historical moment
The moment of glory .. Dharmaraja college defeated Kingswood college in the 105th Battle of the Maroons on 26th of March 2011

The Score Board

Kingswood 117 in 38.5 overs (N. Weerakoon 50, L. Madushan 30, Y. Atukorale 22; N. Karunaratne 3 for 34, D. Lanka 3 for 38, M. Ratnayake 1 for 14) and 127 in 60 overs (Y. Atukorale 23, L. Madushan 31, M. Premawardena 20, N. Unamboowe 17, N. Karunaratne 3 for 36, L. Herath 2 for 6)

Dharmaraja 169 for 6 in 38 overs (S.Gunasekera 53, N. Weerakkodi 43, H. Munaweera 26, N. Karunaratne 24; Y. Athukorale 2 for 21, C.Gunasekera 2 for 29, L. Hettiarachchi 2 for 32) and 76 for 3 in 19 overs (K. Wijekoon 12, S. Weerakkodi 24, H. Munaweera 12 n.o; Y. Atukorale 1 for 11, C. Gunasekera 1 for 17, L. Madushan 1 for 11)
Limited Overs Cricket Encounter between Dharmaraja and Kingswood

The limited overs cricket encounter between the Rajans and Kingswoodians was held on 3rd of April 2011 at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium. Every one expected an easy win by Rajans as they had already beaten the KCK team in the big match just a week ago. But Cricket is an unpredictable game .. Kingswoodinas beat Rajans in this match by two wickets.

Rajans batted first and were dismissed for 168. KCK spent only 8 wickets to surpass this score and won the match by 2 wickets.

We convey our heartiest congratulations to our brothers for winning is game . . . Congratulatioins Kingswoodinas !

(Updated @ 1945hrs Local time on 03rd of April 2011)

Big Match Celebrations (2011) – Rajans Group of 94

Rajans Big Match 2011
Are you ready for the very first big match to be played at Pallekele International Cricket stadium ?

The 105th Battle of the Maroons between Dharmaraja college and Kingswood college is scheduled to be played at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium on 25th and 26th of March 2011. We (Rajans Group of 94) have organized several activities on 26th of March to celebrate and cheer-up our team as we did earlier on .

A limited number of special T-Shirts will be available for the Rajans Group of 94 members. Please reserve your one before it's too late.

Please deposit Rs 1000.00 to the account of Rajans 94 Group
A/C No 8890010800
Bank : Commercial Bank - Nawalapitiya Branch

Please contact
JC : 0772 612367
Hulan : 0777 646144

About Rajans Cricket team 2011 . . .

Dharmaraja Rajans 1st XI team 2011
Dharmaraja College cricket team 2011: (seated from left) Sasanka Nakkawita, Lahiru Herath, Kavinda Wijekoon (vice captain), Ananda Wijesekera (Coach), Sarath Matharaarachchi (Prefect of Games), S M Keerthiratne (Principal), Sarath Ekanayake (Master in Charge), Hemal Munaweera (captain), Sasith Gunasekera, Sadun Weerakoddy, Standing: Venuka Galahitiyawa, Dilan Abeysinghe, Deneth Lanka, Nuwan Karunaratne, Asela Jayatillake, Nilupal Rajapakse, Kaveendra Jayasinghe, Shasheen Abeykoon, Viraj Karaputugala, Arvinda Withanarachchi, Mayura Ratnayake, Gehan Samarakoon, Lasitha Weeraratne, Lochana Wijesiri.

Our team has played this season 14 matches 1 winning, lost 1 and drawn the rest. But they have led their opponents on the first innings in 11 matches.

For runs we could depend on skipper Hemal Munaweera, Kavinda Wijekoon, Viraj Karaputugala (350 runs), Sadun Werakoddy (600 runs), Sasanka Nakkawita (400 runs), Sasith Gunasekera (750 runs), Lahiru Herath (400 runs), Nuwan Karunaratne (250 runs), Deneth Lanka (250 runs) and Lasitha Weeraratne (250 runs).

Opening the Rajans attack will be skipper Hemal Munaweera and Nuwan Karunaratne (20 wickets) Lahiru Herath (25 wickets). They will be supported by the spin of left arm spinner Aravinda Withanarachchi (50 wkts) and off spinner Deneth Lanka (46 wkts) and off spinner Sasanka Nakkawita (20 wkts).

The team is coached by former Dharmaraja College cricketer Mr. Ananda Wijesekera with Mr. Sarath Ekanayake as the Master In Charge.

All Island Schools Rugby 7s

All Island Schools Rugby 7s Updates

All Island Schools Rugby 7s organised by the SLSRFA is to be played at Royal college Sports Complex on 5th and 6th of March 2011.

Updates of the matches related to Dharmaraja College will be published here courtesy of Indika Basnayake (Rajans Group of 94)

First round - Group G

DRC Vs DS Senanayake College - Rajans won by 17 (1G/2T) - 0

DRC Vs STC - Rajans won by 29 (2G/3T) - 0

Quarter Finals

DRC Vs TCK - Lost to TCK by 0 - 7 (1G)